2nd week on the AIP

Week 2 on the AIP | Naturally in Progress

Baked Chicken Thighs & Roasted Veggies || Week 2 on the AIP

I just wrapped up my second week on the Autoimmune Protocol. I can’t believe how quickly the days are going by, but I’m actually so thankful because it means I’m spending less time obsessing over what I’m eating, or subsequently, not eating.

The first week I was on the AIP, I wavered between feeling nauseous and feeling more or less distracted. I believe I was so focused on figuring out what my next meal was going to be that I could hardly pay attention to much else!  Thankfully, after a week on the diet, I felt like I started to calm down a bit, and I realized I probably had more options than I realized.

What I’ve been eating:

Dinners:

  • Savory baked chicken legs from Practical Paleo (a non-AIP version of the original recipe is here, just omit black pepper & paprika), with broccoli and cauliflower roasted in coconut oil and rosemary salt.
  • AIP pork shoulder roast with mashed cauliflower; sautéed summer squash & zucchini w/ onion & bacon

Lunches:

  • Leftovers (some kind of roasted meat and veggies) + fruit
  • A salad of mixed greens, green olives, bacon, avocado, turkey or chicken, with homemade vinaigrette

Breakfast:

  • Coconut milk smoothie with leafy greens, mixed berries, 1/2 avocado, 1/2 banana and some supplements prescribed by my functional medicine doctor +
  • reheated veggies with ground pork or bacon OR reheated “apple fritters” 

Snacks:

  • leftover morning smoothies
  • apple chips
  • applesauce
  • leftover bacon! (I don’t have a dehydrator to make jerky, so this is emergency protein sometimes if I’m feeling a little blood sugar dip)

Honestly, as I look back over my week, my meals haven’t been all that exciting. Sometimes, it’s just about getting the nourishment in so I can move on with my day, and there’s always a lot going on around here with two kids.  

I just spent some time perusing PaleoMom.com’s site though, and pinning tons of recipes that look interesting and like a break from my recent norm. 

Here’s what I plan on trying out soon!

Potatoless Potato-Leek Soup from PaleoMom.com

Bacon & Kale Pizza with Plantain Crust by the Primitive Homemaker

And these guys…

Plantain Crackers by the PaleoMom.com

I can’t even tell you how badly I’ve missed salty crackers or chips, and this would help me get some more guacamole into my life. Sliced cucumber was only taking me so far.

It seems my next big adventures will involve plantains and more plantains, and I’m going to add water chestnut flour and tapioca flour to my pantry list. The adventures just keep unfolding…

 

What about you? What’s been your biggest challenge in keeping your food rotation interesting? What yummy things are you cooking up in your AIP-kitchen? Please share!

Leave a Reply

